Team India will take on hosts Sri Lanka in the Asian Champion League 2023 Final at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on 17th September, Sunday. Two teams will face off for the second time in the tournament. The last encounter between both teams was in the Super 4 stage, where India defeated Sri Lanka by 41 runs. The Men in Blue qualified for the final with consecutive wins against Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the Super 4 stage. However, they lost to Bangladesh in the dead rubber. Sri Lanka booked their spot in the final with wins against Bangladesh and Pakistan but lost to India in the Super 4 stage. 

India and Sri Lanka are strong contenders to win the Asian Champion League. Sri Lanka has a home advantage, while the Men in Blue performed well on a spinning track. Both teams are likely to make some changes to their playing XI due to injuries to players. However, India and Sri Lanka will field strong teams for the title clash. The upcoming Final is expected to be thrilling as both teams will look to take home the Asian Champion League trophy. 

Players To Watch Out For

S Gill (IND): S Gill is one of the top-performing batsmen in the ongoing edition of the Asian Champion League. The 24-year-old is the leading run-scorer of the tournament, aggregating 275 runs, including a century and two half-centuries, at an average of 68.75 in five matches so far. In India’s last Super 4 match against Bangladesh, S Gill scored a scintillating knock of 121 off 133 balls but went in vain. He was a lone warrior fighting to take Team India over the line. Gill’s ability to anchor the innings in challenging situations is a big plus for the team. Gill has been in really good form in the tournament so far and will look to come up with goods again in the Final against Sri Lanka. 

D Wellalage (SL): D Wellalage has grabbed the attention of the cricket world with his exceptional performance in the Asian Champion League. He has been considered a new emerging star of Sri Lanka Cricket. The 20-year-old is currently the joint-second highest wicket-taker, with 10 wickets, including a five-wicket haul, at an economy rate of 4.30 in five matches so far. His best performance came against India, wherein he registered the best ODI bowling figures of 5/40. He also contributed with the bat, scoring 42* off 46 balls. Wellalage has already impressed with his talent in the ongoing edition of the Asian Champion League. He is likely to pose a threat to India’s batting line-up in the Final. 

H Pandya (IND): H Pandya has been a crucial all-rounder for India in the ongoing Asian Champion League. He was very effective with the bowl as well as the bat. Pandya was rested for India’s last Super 4 match against Bangladesh, but his absence did cost the batting line-up. In the match against Sri Lanka, H Pandya failed to deliver with the bat but bowled well by scalping one wicket while conceding just 14 runs in five overs. The 29-year-old has improved his bowling over the last couple of years. He is currently a third seamer for India in the tournament. In batting, H Pandya is a reliable batsman in the middle-order who can accelerate innings when needed. H Pandya will look to put up an impactful performance against Sri Lanka in the Final. 

S Samarawickrama (SL): S Samarawickrama has been one of the reliable batsmen for Sri Lanka in the ongoing Asian Champion League. The 28-year-old is currently the third-leading run-scorer of the tournament, with 215 runs, including two fifties, at an average of 43 in five matches so far. In Sri Lanka’s last Super 4 match against Pakistan, Samarawickrama scored a crucial 48 off 51 on a tricky Colombo pitch to help the team chase the target of 252 (DLS). S Samarawickrama has produced some impactful performances in the tournament, including 93 against Bangladesh. Though he has a conservative approach to his batting, Samarawickrama can shift his gear and accelerate the innings when needed. S Samarawickrama could be a challenge for India in the Final. 

Predicted Playing XI 

IND: R Sharma [C], S Gill, V Kohli, I Kishan, KL Rahul [WK],  H Pandya, R Jadeja, S Thakur, K Yadav, M Siraj, J Bumrah, 

SL: P Nissanka, K Perera, K Mendis [WK], S Samarawickrama, C Asalanka, D Shanaka [C], D de Silva, D Wellalage, P Madushan, M Pathirana, K Rajitha, 

Fantasy Playing XI 

Wicketkeeper: KL Rahul 

Batsmen: R Sharma, S Gill [C], V Kohli, S Samarawickrama, 

All-rounders: H Pandya, D Wellalage, 

Bowlers: J Bumrah, K Yadav, P Madushan, M Pathirana,