The Croatian player, Luka Modric who led his country to its first World Cup final is the first non- Messi or Ronaldo player since Kaka in 2007 to win the prestigious Ballon d’Or award 2018.

Despite netting 49 goals for the club and country and leading his side to win the La Liga title, the poor World Cup show landed Messi in the fifth position of this award. Ronaldo, Modric’s former Real Madrid teammate finished in the second position followed by Atletico Madrid and France forward Antoine Griezmann and PSG and France forward Kylian Mbappe.

The 33-year old Croatian was earlier awarded the FIFA’s World Cup 2018 MVP, UEFA’s Player of the year 2018, Best FIFA footballer of the year and the number one player by International Federation of Football History and Statistics.

Norway and Lyon star Ada Hegerberg made history by winning the first women’s Ballon d’Or award at the age of 23 who bested the team of 15 finalists for the award.

Meanwhile overtaking national teammates Raphael Varane and Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe was awarded the Kopa award for the best young player.