After a nerve-jangling hour at the Adelaide Oval, India beat Australia by 31 runs and leads the series 1-0. India had its first series-opening win in the Australian soil and its first in the country since the Anil Kumble’s team’s victory in 2008.

This historic match made Virat Kohli the first Asian captain to have won a test in South Africa, Australia, and England in the same calendar year.

Chasing 323, hosts Australia were all out for 291 in 119.5 overs on the final day at the Adelaide Oval. The home side began the day from overnight 104/4, required 219 more for an improbable victory.

In the first innings, India was all out for 250 and then swiped off the hosts for 235 to set a 15-run lead. India again set a challenging target of 307 in the second innings. Even though Australian tail fought valiantly on the final day of the test, with Pat Cummins(28), Mitchell Starc(28) and Nathan Lyon(38 not out) contributing decent runs, Indian bowlers’ performance put the final nail to Australia’s coffin to end their battle.

Cheteshwar Pujara was the man of the match for his sixteenth Test century in the first innings and scoring 71 runs in the second innings.