The Indian Playerzpot League throughout the years has marveled the fans with some eye catching hits and exceptional run-scoring abilities by batters from all across the world. The T20 format is notorious for favouring the batters, thus unleashing the wrath of the top-class talents there is to witness at the grandest stage. Over the years many greats of the game have graced the league with some splendid knocks and this season is no exception.

The Orange Cap Race is one of the most prestigious awards there is to get for any player playing in the Indian Playerzpot League. Not only that the constant change in personnel in the top orders makes things more thrilling and interesting. This season has seen some of the old guards take center stage and at the same time, the young blood have started to stake their claim in the glamour T20 League.

Let us take a look at the current Orange Cap Race:

#1. F. du Plessis (Bangalore)

Known for his exponential hitting and match-winning abilities Du Plessis is a surreal match winner and no wonder, Bangalore made sure they snatched him up when he was made available at the auction. The veteran South African batter also took up the captaincy charge in the new team, the new season has brought in welcoming change as the batter is now in his element with the bat in his hands. With 631 runs in 12 matches, he is leading the Orange cap race for now. His highest run tally was 84 and he has amassed 7 fifties throughout the campaign. Bangalore will be hoping that Du Plessis maintains this good form as there are some crucial matches coming up for them.

#2. S. Gill (Gujarat)

One of the rising stars of Indian cricket, S. Gill is now slowly elevating to the level of a superstar cricket player. Picked up by the Gujarat team in the 2022 season, he has been just phenomenal for them. After lifting the title in their first-ever season, Gill has not lost his grip on performing at the top level. With the recent century against Hyderabad, he has now made a jump to the 2nd place in the orange cap race. He has notched up 4 half-centuries and a century in this run, thus continuing his consistent run. Gujarat are a threat and certainly favourites to retain their title this season and it won’t be a surprise if Gill plays a major role in this pursuit.

#3. Y. Jaiswal (Rajasthan)

Y. Jaiswal’s story can rightly be described as rags to riches in cricketing terms. The young batter has exploded in the Indian Playerzpot League this season making him the breakthrough player by a mile. The 21-year-old opening batter has been anchoring Rajasthan’s opening with the bat. It has to be noted that J. Buttler is not having a merry campaign and that is why, Jaiswal’s rise has been important for the team’s progression so far in the tournament. The youngster sits proudly on the 3rd spot with 575 runs to his name in 13 games. His score of 124 is the highest individual score by any batter in their year’s tournament. 575 runs are the most runs scored by an uncapped Indian player in Indian Playerzpot League.

#4. D. Conway (Chennai)

The fiery New Zealand batter has been a point of difference for Chennai in the batting order this season. With a ton of experience and the ability to make the ball disappear in the stands, he is currently amongst the most fearsome hitters of the Indian Playerzpot League. Standing tall in the 4th place in the orange cap race, Conway has scored 498 runs this season for Chennai. He has a personal best of 92* and considering the yellow army is heading for knockout stages, the Conway bandwagon will continue to roll. With an average of almost 50 runs per game, he is a genuine contender to claim the top prize.

#5. S. Yadav (Mumbai)

He has to be the best T20 batter in the current cricket circuit hands down. Perhaps he is the only one who has redefined T20 batting after the great A.B. de Villiers. S. Yadav is known for his unorthodox approach of hitting the ball across the lengths of the field. Having started slowly this season, Yadav is now shifting gears rapidly and at the right time for Mumbai. With a century against Gujarat and a consistent run of flow, he is now placed 5th in the orange cap race. What’s noteworthy is the fact he has the highest strike rate of 190.83 of all the contenders in the list thus highlighting the fact of how capable he is to turn the game single-handedly.