A day after WV Raman was appointed as the head coach of the Indian Women’s cricket team, ODI women’s captain Mithali Raj, retained her place in the T20I squad and will be leading the Indian ODI team in their upcoming New Zealand tour.

T20 skipper Harmanpreet Kaur remains as the captain of the T20 team while Veda Krishnamurthy was dropped from the upcoming New Zealand tour beginning next month.

India will play three-match ODI series and three-match T20I series which is scheduled to start from January 24 among which the ODI series will be played as part of ICC Women’s Championship.

The New Zealand tour will be India’s first assignment after the controversial World T20 semi-final exit which resulted in a massive clash between Harmanpreet and Mithali. Former coach, Ramesh Powar along with captain Harmanpreet Kaur, had collectively decided to drop Mithali Raj for the semi-finals, triggering a huge controversy.

The women’s cricket team stood divided as Harmanpreet and deputy Smriti Mandana backing Powar for his term extension but Mithali opposing the same.

Both squads were announced by selection panel chief Hemlatha Kala in the presence of BCCI CEO, Rahul Johri and acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary.