The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the schedule for the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League. The 16th edition of the tournament will take place from 31st March and the last league match will be played on 21st May. After a gap of three years, the home-and-away format will return in the upcoming edition of the Indian Cricket League. All 10 teams will play seven home and away matches during the league stage of the tournament. A total of 70 league matches will be played over 52 days in 12 venues. 

Punjab Kings will start their campaign in IPL 2023 against Kolkata Knight Riders on 1st April in Mohali. Punjab had another forgettable campaign in IPL 2022 as they failed to qualify for the playoffs for the eighth consecutive season. Punjab finished sixth in the league stage of the tournament. Ahead of the IPL 2022, the team saw a change in captaincy, with M. Agarwal taking up the leadership role after Rahul moved to Lucknow. However, under the leadership of Agarwal, Punjab failed to go past the league stage. However, there were good individual performances including the likes of S. Dhawan, K. Rabada and A. Singh. 

Ahead of the IPL 2023, Punjab made major changes in its set-up. T. Bayliss has been appointed as head coach, while S. Dhawan will lead the team in the upcoming IPL season. Moreover, the franchise broke the bank to secure the services of S. Curran for IPL 2023. Punjab also bought Sikandar Raza at the auction to strengthen their bench for the upcoming IPL season. With the current, Punjab will look to have a great season and clinch their maiden IPL triumph. 

Punjab is placed alongside Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad and Gujarat in Group B.  The team will play against the other five teams in Group A twice and the remaining four matches will be played against the teams in the same group.

Here’s the schedule for Punjab’s league stage matches in IPL 2023:

Date Time  Opposition  Venue 
1st April 2023 3:30 PM  Kolkata Knight Riders  Mohali 
5th April 2023 7:30 PM  Rajasthan Royals  Barspara Cricket Stadium
9th April 2023  7:30 PM Sunrisers Hyderabad Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium 
13th April 2023 7:30 PM Gujarat Titans  Mohali 
15th April 2023 7:30 PM Lucknow Super Giants  Ekana Cricket Stadium 
20th April 2023 3:30 PM Royal Challengers Bangalore  Mohali 
22nd April 2023 7:30 PM Mumbai Indians  Wankhede Stadium 
28th April 2023 7:30 PM Lucknow Super Giants  Mohali 
30th April 2023 3:30 PM Chennai Super Kings  MA Chidambaram Stadium
3rd May 2023 7:30 PM Mumbai Indians  Mohali 
8th May 2023 7:30 PM Kolkata Knight Riders  Eden Gardens Stadium 
13th May 2023 7:30 PM Delhi Capitals  Arun Jaitley Stadium 
17th May 2023 7:30 PM  Delhi Capitals  Dharamsala 
19th May 2023 7:30 PM Rajashan Royals  Dharamsala