West Indies have announced their squads for the series against Afghanistan. The series will include 3 T20’s & as many ODI games with a lone Test match to be played at Dehradun. The biggest shocker has come in the form of stalwarts Gayle & Russell being dropped.

There were a few surprises when the announcement was made on Tuesday. Top performers from the currently concluded Caribbean Premier League have been rewarded. Hayden Walsh Jr & Brandon King have been included in both the T20 & ODI squads. While Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Gayle & Andre Russell lose out, Jason Holder is included in all 3 squads. Darren Bravo & Shannon Gabriel also miss out.

Here are the squads –

T20I: Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Sherfane Rutherford, Brandon King, Fabian Allen, Jason Holder, Hayden Walsh Jr., Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams, Alzarri Joseph

Kieron Pollard (c), Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Sunil Ambris, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Hayden Walsh Jr., Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph, Romario Shepherd.

Jason Holder (c), Shai Hope, John Campbell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Shamrah Brooks, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Sunil Ambris, Jomel Warrican, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph.

As announced earlier Kieron Pollard will captain the squad in the limited-overs games while Jason Holder will lead the test side. The series will run from November 5 to December 1.