The Delhi Capitals have been one of the long-serving teams in the Indian T20 franchise league. Over the years they have had some great players who took the team but they are yet to taste the sweet victory of lifting the converted trophy. The Women’s T20 league can be a great catalyst for the franchise to unearth that winning formula for the success that has been long deprived for the capital city.

Who is the owner of the Delhi Capitals Women’s Team?

JSW GMR Cricket Private Limited (GMR) paid a total of INR 801 crore to acquire the rights to purchase and run the franchise for Delhi. JSW is very well known for its ventures in the sports industry and already have rosters in a variety of sporting leagues, they have Haryana Steelers as the Kabaddi team and Bengaluru FC a popular football franchise from the ISL. GMR notably also owns a franchise in Legends League Cricket named as India Capitals.

Which players were the prominent picks for the Delhi Capitals Women’s team at Auction?

Delhi Capitals have a point to prove in the franchise leagues and therefore they were not shy of making their intentions heard at the WT20 player’s auctions, where they did make some really good purchases. J. Rodriguez (INR 2.2 crore) and S. Verma (INR 2 crore) form the spine of the team. They also picked up M. Lanning (INR 1.1 crore) and Titas Sadhu (INR 25 lakhs) thus adding stability to their entire team. S. Pandey (INR 60 lakhs) was another good buy for the Delhi franchise at the auction.

Coaching Staff for Delhi Capitals

The Delhi capitals have roped the 48-year-old former English first-class cricketer J. Batty as their head coach for the 2023 WT20 season. He will be assisted by H. Kala and L. Keightley. Batty has had experience coaching the women’s cricket team in the BBL and will be looking to bring that experience on board for the Delhi side. Keightley has vast experience playing herself for the Australian team and having coached the England national women’s team to the 2022 ICC World Cup final.

Delhi Capitals home stadium for WT20 2023

The Arun Jaitely Stadium in New Delhi has been the long-serving home ground for the Delhi Franchise. However, the inaugural edition of the WT20 League 2023 will be played across two venues in Mumbai. The DY Patil Stadium and the Brabourne Stadium will be hosting all 23 WPL matches. So needless to say that Delhi will have to play all of their matches without the advantage of their home support and stadium.

What to expect from Delhi Capitals

Considering that having put all eggs in one basket for the men’s team has not worked well in their favour, Delhi will certainly like to ante up in the inaugural Women’s T20 League, and why not. All the teams are playing in the tournament for the first time so there is an element of surprise. Moreover, with the star-studded coaching staff and some highly talented players at Delhi’s disposal, the trophy could be well within their sights.

Delhi Capitals Women’s Squad for WT20 2023: J. Rodrigues, M. Lanning, S. Verma, L. Harris, J. Akhter, S. Deepthi, T.Sadhu, P. Yadav, T. Bhatia, A. Mondal, R. Yadav, S. Pandey, M. Kapp, A. Capsey, T. Norris, M. Mani, A. Reddy, J. Jonassen

The Delhi Capitals Women’s team will kickstart their WT20 campaign with an encounter against the Royal Challengers Bangalore on March 5 at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.