Women’s T20 League is all set to begin with a blast on March 4 with a grand opening ceremony. The BCCI (Board of control for cricket in India) is leaving no stone unturned to mark the beginning of the inaugural edition of the league with a grand opening ceremony. The DY Patil Stadium is set to host the entire ceremony and the first game of the tournament that will be played between Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Giants.

The official tune of the Women’s T20 League was unveiled by BCCI Secretary Jay Shah via his official Twitter account. The opening ceremony will see a whole host of Bollywood celebrities and singers entertain the crowd. The official anthem of the Women’s T20 League will also be played at the event by a prominent Indian Singer.

Who are the celebrities performing at the opening ceremony of the Women’s T20 League?

Bollywood Star Kiara Advani and Musician Shankar Mahadevan will be performing at the opening ceremony at the DY Patil Stadium. Shankar will also be performing the anthem which he himself wrote and composed. Other big names who are also expected to be performing are actress Kriti Sanon and popular singer/rapper AP Dhillon.

Women’s T20 League opening ceremony date, time, and venue

The opening ceremony is expected to be held before the opening game of the tournament between Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Giants on March 4 at 7:30 PM, IST. The venue of this ceremony is the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.

Tickets price and entry for the WT20 opening ceremony

The tickets for the opening match and the grand opening ceremony at DY Patil Stadium on 4 March are made available on Bookmyshow. The welcoming change here was that girls and women will have free tickets to enjoy the show as well as the games. Where boys and men will have to pay Rs 100 or Rs 400 for the tickets to enjoy the games.

Where to watch the Women’s T20 League opening ceremony?

Network 18 has bagged the broadcasting rights for TV, while you will be able to live stream the event and matches of the Jio -Cinema app. A total of five teams, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and UP Warriorz will be battling out to lift the winner’s trophy of the inaugural event.

Speaking of the hype ahead of the tournament, the Women’s player auction event was a huge success. All the teams had to pick players to build their teams from the scratch. A total of 15-18 players is what the teams were allowed to add to their roster. RCB broke the bank in bagging S.Mandhana for INR 3.40 crore, and H. Kaur the captain of the Indian team was picked by Mumbai Indians for INR 1.80 crore. A.Garner of Australia and N. Sciver of England were among highest paid overseas players and were sold to Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians for INR 3.20 crore each.

The league has got the necessary boost in terms of sponsors as TATA has joined hands with BCCI to be the title sponsor for the Women’s T20 League. While, partners like Dream 11, CEAT, and Amul have also joined the bandwagon in aiming to make the tournament a success. The entire showcase women’s cricket tournament will be entertaining the entire country for nearly a month which will set the benchmark for the rise of women’s cricket and its popularity.